Skip to main content
Welcome to Grassington View of the square

Parish Councils and Forum Meetings

The Authority recognises the value of a strong relationship with Parish Councils – the most local democratic representation of opinion – in order to achieve the objectives set out in the National Park Management Plan.

This part of the website is dedicated to supporting and engaging with Parish Councils.

Parish Forums

We have regular Parish Forum meetings for all parishes wholly or partially within the National Park.

The Forums encourage a two-way discussion about any and all National Park issues relevant to Parish Councils.  Agendas are agreed in advance to include items requested by the Parish Councils.

Parishes are encouraged to take the opportunity at these forums to share innovative ideas/activities/projects that parishes have done – so that others can learn from them. A slot on the agenda will be available for a Parish Council or other local representative to give a presentation.

Following 2020’s suspension of Parish Forum meetings due to Covid-19, we trialled holding a Parish Forum on Wednesday 13 October 2021, by Zoom, which enabled us to invite people from parishes right across the National Park to come together, to share ideas and experiences.

Our upcoming Spring meetings will be held in person, with a separate forum for the parishes in the north of the National Park, one for the parishes in the south and one for the parishes in the west. The dates are:

  • Western parishes – Wednesday 11 May 2022 at 7pm, Barbon Village Hall
  • Northern parishes – Wednesday 18 May 2022 at 7pm, Fremington Sunday School (village hall)
  • Southern parishes – Thursday 19 May 2022 at 7pm, Grassington Devonshire Institute

Notes, presentations and briefings from previous meetings can be found on the Parish Forum notes and briefings page.

Our Parish Appointed Members

The membership of the Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority is set out in legislation (Environment Act 1995). Of the 25 members, four are appointed by the Secretary of State to represent the parishes in the National Park. Those parish members are: 

  • Allen Kirkbride
  • Ian McPherson
  • Neil Heseltine
  • Liz Hall

More details about the parish members can be found here.

If you are interested in becoming a ‘Parish Member’ you can find out more by visiting our ‘How to become a Member’ page and by contacting the Committees Officer on 01969 652364.