Skip to main content

How to become a Member

Find out how to become a Member below.

(You may also be interested in reading the blog by Lizzie Bushby, one of our newer Members, on becoming a Member)

Local authority appointees

The local authority Members are serving councillors appointed by:

It is preferred that as the local authority appointees should represent constituents living within the National Park. Their divisions or wards should ideally be situated either wholly or partly within the National Park. Local authorities are encouraged to consider this when appointing councillors to be Members of the National Park Authority.

Appointments are normally made by local authorities at their annual meetings following elections. County council elections are held every four years.

‘National’ Secretary of State appointees

‘National’ Members are chosen through an open recruitment exercise, conducted by Defra on behalf of the Secretary of State. Vacancies are advertised in the press and on this website.

In selecting Members, the Secretary of State for the Environment will look for people who have a national perspective of the issues facing National Parks, and experience in a combination of fields. Members will be selected for their personal abilities. In some cases preference will be given to those who have a particular expertise which the Authority may be lacking.

Six ‘National’ Members are appointed initially for four years at a time. They are eligible for reappointments for up to a maximum of 10 years.

‘Parish’ Secretary of State appointees

‘Parish’ appointments are made by the Secretary of State on the recommendation of parishes within the National Park. To be eligible, people must be either a serving parish councillor or the chair of a parish meeting. The National Park Authority has four ‘parish Members’ to represent the following parishes:

  • One for Richmondshire parishes:
    Arkengarthdale, Askrigg and Low Abbotside, Aysgarth & District, Bainbridge, Burton cum Walden, Caldbergh with East Scrafton, Carlton Highdale, Carlton Town, Carperby cum Thoresby, Castle Bolton, Coverham with Agglethorpe, Downholme, East Witton, Grinton & Ellerton Abbey, Hawes & High Abbotside, Hudswell,  Marrick, Marske & New Forest, Melbecks, Melmerby, Muker, Reeth, West Scrafton and West Witton.
  • One for the Craven Wharfedale (east) parishes:
    Appletreewick, Arncliffe, Barden, Beamsley, Bolton Abbey, Buckden, Burnsall, Conistone-with-Kilnsey, Conistone Cold & Bell Busk, Cracoe, Embsay-with-Eastby, Grassington, Halton East, Halton Gill, Hartlington, Hawkswick, Hazelwood-with-Storiths, Hebden, Hetton-cum-Bordley, Kettlewell-with-Starbotton, Linton, Litton, Rylstone, Thorpe and Threshfield. 
  • One for the Craven Airedale (west) parishes:
    Airton, Austwick, Calton, Clapham, Eshton, Flasby-with-Winterburn, Gargrave, Giggleswick, Hanlith, Hellifield, Horton in Ribblesdale, Ingleton, Kirkby Malham, Langcliffe, Long Preston, Malham, Malham Moor, Otterburn, Scosthrop, Settle, Stainforth, Stirton-with-Thorlby and Thornton-in-Lonsdale.
  • One for South Lakeland, Eden, and Lancaster City parishes:
    Garsdale, Dent, Sedbergh, and the western parishes Asby, Bandleyside, Crosby Garrett, Crosby Ravensworth, Kings Meaburn, Kirkby Stephen, Mallerstang, Musgrave, Nateby, Orton, Ravenstonedale, Shap Rural, Soulby, Tebay, Waitby, Wharton, Barbon, Casterton, Firbank, Grayrigg, Killington, Kirkby Lonsdale, Mansergh, Middleton, Ireby & Leck, and Burrow with Burrow.

Parish councillors are initially appointed to the National Park Authority until the next Parish Council / Parish Meeting elections or their term of office as a parish councillor ends. However, subject to re-election by the group of parishes, they can remain as a Member as long as they remain a parish councillor. When there is a vacancy for a ‘parish’ Member, parishes are invited to propose a candidate. If there is more than one candidate, an election amongst the parish councils is held to determine the name of the candidate. This is then submitted to the Secretary of State for approval.