Planning a visit?

Living & Working

expand

Visit the Dales

expand

Sources of advice

Rural Payments Agency

To confirm if a flood mitigation feature is permanently ineligible, temporarily ineligible or eligible for Basic Payment Scheme (BPS) funding, call 01609 773751.

Environment Agency

Swale, Ure, Nidd and Wharfe
Charles Forman, 020 3025 7984, charles.forman@environment-agency.gov.uk

Aire and Calder
Rachel Kipling, 020 3025 6702, rachel.kipling@environment-agency.gov.uk

Ribble
Helen Dix, 020 3025 1290, helen.dix@environment-agency.gov.uk

Lune
Simon Bennett, 07920 535860, simon.bennett@environment-agency.gov.uk

Eden
Liz Davey, 07833 360131, liz.davey@environment-agency.gov.uk

Natural England

Natural flood management leads, Yorkshire and Humber
Claire Bradley, 07789 273292, claire.bradley@naturalengland.org.uk
Richard Dimon, 07789 747519, richard.dimon@naturalengland.org.uk

Natural flood management lead, Cumbria
Tim Nicholson, 07836 615146, timothy.nicholson@naturalengland.org.uk
Chris Turner, 07771 977355, christopher.turner@naturalengland.org.uk

Forestry Commission

National Park in North Yorkshire
Jeremy Dick, 07771 806956, jeremy.dick@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

National Park in Cumbria or Lancashire
Barbondale and edge of Lunesdale - Andy Bennett,  07584 34272, andy.bennett@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Cumbria dales, Orton Fells area - Jim O’Neill, 07831 174639, jim.oneill@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Rivers Trusts

Yorkshire Dales (for Swale, Ure and Wharfe)
Dan Turner, 07818 532650, dan.turner@yorkshiredalesriverstrust.com

Ribble
Jack Spees, 01200 444452, jack@ribbletrust.com

Lune
Sarah Littlefield, 015242 22174, sarah@luneriverstrust.org.uk

Eden
Matthew Jenkinson, 01768 866788, office@edenrt.org

Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority

Development planning, 01969 652345, planning@yorkshiredales.org.uk

General number for teams listed below: 0300 456 0030

Historic Environment, herinfo@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Wildlife, wildlife@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Trees & Woodlands, trees@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Farm Conservation (including agri-environment support): farming@yorkshiredales.org.uk

Yorkshire Dales Millennium Trust

015242 51002, info@ydmt.org

Woodland Trust

Cumbria: Pete Leeson, 01476 581111

Yorkshire Peat Partnership

Tim Thom, 01756 796895, 07824 139263, tim.thom@ywt.org.uk

Existing flood management projects

Upper Aire Project:
Phil Lyth, 07713 333170, phil.lyth@farmingandwildlife.net
Don Vine, 07818 403138, don.vine@ywt.org.uk

Princes Countryside Fund NFM project for Wensleydale and Wharfedale:
Yorkshire Dales Rivers Trust: Dan Turner, 07818 532650, dan.turner@yorkshiredalesriverstrust.com

Farmer-led natural flood management groups

Wensleydale - Tarja Wilson, 07970 873314, tarja.wilson@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Swaledale - Carol Moffat, 07917 666514, carol@thefarmernetwork.co.uk
Wharfedale - Dan Turner, 07818 532650, dan.turner@yorkshiredalesriverstrust.com
Lune catchment - Hannah Fawcett, 07818 048750, hannah.fawcett@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Ribblesdale - Adrian Shepherd, 015242 51002, adrian.shepherd@ydmt.org

What's going on in the Dales

Upcoming events and search for what's on when you visit.

Three Peaks

Find out everything you need to know about walking the iconic Yorkshire Three Peaks.

Essential visitor info

How to get here, where to stay and more.

Get outdoors

Find out about walking, cycling, mountain biking and horse riding

Walking

Get inspiration whether you want family-friendly ambles or long-distance challenge >

Loading...